Click here to order The 2022 Tennessee Williams Annual Review! Shipping now!


Regular price $14.00

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Steve Pistorius is an early Jazz pianist and bandleader from New Orleans, Louisiana, who's been serving up great rag, Jelly Roll Morton, stride and New Orleans jazz for as long as one can remember, yet every time you hear him, you experience something new. Of his many bands over the years, the one here is among the best. Clarinetists Orange Kellin and James Evans are very skilled on their own, but their synergy is something special: They goad each other to higher heights. It’s a great thing to hear them floating and weaving like kites in a storm, only to end a tune landing side by side in a perfect dovetail.

There are always nicely unearthed rarities on a Pistorius production, but two standouts here are semi-familiar tunes in disguise. It’s fun to hear the James P. Johnson piano solo “Crying for the Carolines” in a band arrangement, with the verse, sung by Evans with his usual (unusual) élan. “Quién Será,” a 1953 cumbia better known as “Sway” when it was given Anglo lyrics, is played convincingly as a Jelly Roll Morton–esque instrumental.

Track Listing:

1. I’ll Take You Home Again, Kathleen
2. Since My Best Gal Turned Me Down
3. Gulf Coast Blues
4. I Want You Just For Myself
5. The Yama Yama Man
6. Wild Cat Blues
7. Cryin’ For The Carolines
8. Le Marchand de Poissons
9. Quien Sera
10. Satanic Blues
11. A Million Dreams
12. Poor Katie Redd ( Eubie’s Slow Drag )
13. Forty And Tight
14. Riverside Blues
15. Steamboat Days